St Joseph's Catholic

Primary School

Together we love, live and learn.

The Governing Body

**There is currently a vacancy for a parent governor.  Please see the letter and nomination form on the Letters page of the website.  If you would like a bit more information about what the post involves, or perhaps to chat with one of the existing governors,  please contact the school office**


The principal role of the Governing Body is to uphold the Catholic ethos and determine the overall strategic direction of the school.  Governors regularly monitor and evaluate the performance of the school through meetings and visits.  Governors appoint professional staff to fulfill the educational responsibilities of the school.  Governors are not involved in the day to day running of the school.

The majority of the governors are Foundation Governors who are appointed by the Archbishop.  They are practising Catholics and very often parents or former parents of children in the school.  Other governors are elected to their role by groups within the school’s community.  The Governors act collectively as a body and no governor acts as an individual without prior approval by the full governing body.


Our Governors


Co Chair of Governors- Mrs Maggie Griffiths and Mr Chris Park  

Foundation Governors –  Mr Edward Hogan,  Mrs Teresa Lehane, Mrs Elizabeth Burger & Dr Pamela Taylor (The parish is currently awaiting a new parish priest)

Elected Parent Governors-  Mrs Kate Jones, *Vacancy*

Elected Staff Governors – Mrs Lynda Bowen

Local Authority Governor – Mr Philip Morgans

Associate members –  Mrs Ulrike Sturman, Miss Charlotte Kopsch

Clerk to the Governing Body – Mrs Lindsey Latimer


If you need to contact the governors or would like to know more about the work of governors, you should write to:

  • The Clerk to the Governing Body
  • St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School
  • Newtown Road
  • Malvern
  • WR14 1PF


For all day to day matters, including questions or concerns about your child, you should contact the class teacher in the first instance.  For further questions or concerns, you should contact the Headteacher.  School staff may be contacted on request at the end of the school day or you can ask for an appointment by telephoning the school office on 01684 573016.

Picture 1 Maggie Griffiths - Co-Chair of Governors
Picture 2 Chris Park - Co-Chair of Governors
Picture 3 Teresa Lehane - SEND lead
Picture 4 Liz Burger - Safeguarding lead
Picture 5 Pam Taylor - Pupil Premium & LAC lead
Picture 6 Phil Morgans - Health & Safety lead
Picture 7 Edd Hogan - RE & Catholic Life lead
Picture 8 Charlotte Kopsch - Associate Governor
Picture 9 Lyn Bowen - Staff Governor
Picture 10 Lindsey Latimer - Clerk to the Governors

Kate Jones - Parent Governor

Ulrike Sturman - Associate Governor



Mrs Therese Langford

Ex Officio – Head 


Ongoing Resources, Admissions, Learning & Teaching  
Mrs Lynda Bowen Elected staff September 17, 2022 Data, Resources, Learning & Teaching, Staff Appeal Safeguarding (with Liz Burger)
Mrs Elizabeth Burger Foundation August 3, 2022 Data, Pupil Discipline, Learning & Teaching Joint Vice-Chair
Safeguarding Lead
Chair of Learning & Teaching
Mrs Maggie Griffiths Foundation August 2, 2022 Performance & Pay, Resources, Staff, Pupil Discipline, Learning & Teaching Joint Chair
Chair of Resources
Staff Development Lead
Mr Edward Hogan Foundation May 1, 2021 Resources, Admissions, Staff Appeal, Pupil Discipline RE & Catholic Ethos Lead
Miss Charlotte Kopsch Associate member February 1, 2020 Data, Learning & Teaching  
Dr Teresa Lehane Foundation February 6, 2022 Performance & Pay, Resources, Staff, Pupil Discipline Joint Vice-Chair
Mr Philip Morgans Local Authority September 29, 2022 Performance & Pay, Data, Resources, Admissions Health & Safety Lead
Mr Christopher Park Foundation July 1, 2020 Performance & Pay, Data, Resources, Staff Appeal, Learning & Teaching Joint Chair
Chair of Data Group
Maths & Science Lead
Mrs Ulrike Sturman Associate member September 17, 2022    
Mrs Kate Jones Parent December 12, 2021 Resources, Admissions, Learning & Teaching  
Dr Pamela Taylor Foundation May 1, 2019 Performance & Pay, Data, Learning & Teaching Chair of Performance & Pay
Literacy Lead
LAC & PP Lead





Name of 
Governor/associate member
Category Position Relevant Business 
Other Schools 
Any relationship with other 
governors or school staff 
(including spouses, partners & relatives)
Any other interest
Therese Langford Ex-Officio Headteacher None None None None
Maggie Griffiths Foundation Joint Chair None None None None
Chris Park Foundation Joint Chair None None None None
Teresa Lehane Foundation Joint Vice-Chair None None None None
Elizabeth Burger Foundation Joint Vice-Chair None None Mother-in-law of Philip Morgans, LA governor; Mother of Anne-Marie Wood (TA); grandchildren attend the school None
Pam Taylor Foundation   None None None None
Lyn Bowen Staff   None None None None
Philip Morgans LA   None None Son-in-Law of Elizabeth Burger, Foundation Governor; Brother-in-Law to Anne-Marie Wood (TA);  
Edward Hogan Foundation   None None None None
Kate Jones Parent   None   None None
Charlotte Kopsch ** Associate   None None None None
Ulrike Sturman ** Associate   None None None None
Picture 1