The Governing Body

The Governing Body

**There is currently a vacancy for a parent governor.  Please see the letter and nomination form on the Letters page of the website.  If you would like a bit more information about what the post involves, or perhaps to chat with one of the existing governors,  please contact the school office**


The principal role of the Governing Body is to uphold the Catholic ethos and determine the overall strategic direction of the school.  Governors regularly monitor and evaluate the performance of the school through meetings and visits.  Governors appoint professional staff to fulfill the educational responsibilities of the school.  Governors are not involved in the day to day running of the school.

The majority of the governors are Foundation Governors who are appointed by the Archbishop.  They are practising Catholics and very often parents or former parents of children in the school.  Other governors are elected to their role by groups within the school’s community.  The Governors act collectively as a body and no governor acts as an individual without prior approval by the full governing body.

Our Governors

Co Chair of Governors- Mrs Maggie Griffiths and Mr Chris Park  

Foundation Governors –  Mr Edward Hogan,  Mrs Teresa Lehane, Mrs Elizabeth Burger & Dr Pamela Taylor (The parish is currently awaiting a new parish priest)

Elected Parent Governors-  Mrs Kate Jones, *Vacancy*

Elected Staff Governors – Mrs Lynda Bowen

Local Authority Governor – Mr Philip Morgans

Associate members –  Mrs Ulrike Sturman, Miss Charlotte Kopsch

Clerk to the Governing Body – Mrs Lindsey Latimer

If you need to contact the governors or would like to know more about the work of governors, you should write to:

  • The Clerk to the Governing Body
  • St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School
  • Newtown Road
  • Malvern
  • WR14 1PF

For all day to day matters, including questions or concerns about your child, you should contact the class teacher in the first instance.  For further questions or concerns, you should contact the Headteacher.  School staff may be contacted on request at the end of the school day or you can ask for an appointment by telephoning the school office on 01684 573016

St Joseph’s School Governing Body Scheme of Delegation

St Joseph’s School Governing Body Committees’ Terms of Reference

Instrument of Government for Catholic Voluntary Aided Schools


Governors’ Roles & Responsibilities September 2018
Mrs Therese LangfordEx Officio – HeadOngoingResources, Admissions, Learning & Teaching
Mrs Lynda BowenElected staffSeptember 17, 2022Data, Resources, Learning & Teaching, Staff AppealSafeguarding (with Liz Burger)
Mrs Elizabeth BurgerFoundationAugust 3, 2022Data, Pupil Discipline, Learning & TeachingJoint Vice-Chair
Safeguarding Lead
Chair of Learning & Teaching
Mrs Maggie GriffithsFoundationAugust 2, 2022Performance & Pay, Resources, Staff, Pupil Discipline, Learning & TeachingJoint Chair
Chair of Resources
Staff Development Lead
Mr Edward HoganFoundationMay 1, 2021Resources, Admissions, Staff Appeal, Pupil DisciplineRE & Catholic Ethos Lead
Miss Charlotte KopschAssociate memberFebruary 1, 2020Data, Learning & Teaching
Dr Teresa LehaneFoundationFebruary 6, 2022Performance & Pay, Resources, Staff, Pupil DisciplineJoint Vice-Chair
Mr Philip MorgansLocal AuthoritySeptember 29, 2022Performance & Pay, Data, Resources, AdmissionsHealth & Safety Lead
Mr Christopher ParkFoundationJuly 1, 2020Performance & Pay, Data, Resources, Staff Appeal, Learning & TeachingJoint Chair
Chair of Data Group
Maths & Science Lead
Mrs Ulrike SturmanAssociate memberSeptember 17, 2022
Mrs Kate JonesParentDecember 12, 2021Resources, Admissions, Learning & Teaching
Dr Pamela TaylorFoundationMay 1, 2019Performance & Pay, Data, Learning & TeachingChair of Performance & Pay
Literacy Lead
LAC & PP Lead


St Joseph's Governing Body
Register of Interests 2018-19
Name of
Governor/associate member
CategoryPositionRelevant Business
Other Schools
Any relationship with other
governors or school staff
(including spouses, partners & relatives)
Any other interest
Therese Langford Ex-OfficioHeadteacherNoneNoneNoneNone
Maggie GriffithsFoundationJoint ChairNoneNoneNoneNone
Chris ParkFoundationJoint ChairNoneNoneNoneNone
Teresa LehaneFoundationJoint Vice-ChairNoneNoneNoneNone
Elizabeth BurgerFoundationJoint Vice-ChairNoneNoneMother-in-law of Philip Morgans, LA governor; Mother of Anne-Marie Wood (TA); grandchildren attend the schoolNone
Pam TaylorFoundationNoneNoneNoneNone
Lyn BowenStaffNoneNoneNoneNone
Philip MorgansLANoneNoneSon-in-Law of Elizabeth Burger, Foundation Governor; Brother-in-Law to Anne-Marie Wood (TA);
Edward HoganFoundationNoneNoneNoneNone
Kate JonesParentNoneNoneNone
Charlotte Kopsch **AssociateNoneNoneNoneNone
Ulrike Sturman **AssociateNoneNoneNoneNone